Spring 2008

Tuesday, March 18
University Series
Iwan Ries Building

Tuesday, March 25
Salon on Stratford
Augustus Higginson
in Lake View

Tuesday, April 1
University Series
Ted Cohen
Iwan Ries Building

Tuesday, April 15
Salon at the Mews

Jeffrey Dean
The Mews, Hyde Park

Tuesday, April 29
University Series
Achy Obejas
Iwan Ries Building

Tuesday, May 13
University Series
Robert Wallace
Iwan Ries Building

Tuesday, May 27
University Series
Théâtre des Architectes
James and Kutyla

University Series @ Iwan Ries Tuesday, March 18, 5:30-8:30

Join us for a lively discussion, slide show and book signing for Harold!  Photographs from the Harold Washington Years, featuring author Salim Muwakkil, photographers Antonio Dickey and Marc PoKempner, and editor Ron Dorfman

Presented in conjunction with the Harold Washington Commemorative Year, this Cigar Society event gives us a chance to remember Harold and analyze his legacy a quarter-century after his election, on April 12, 1983, as the first African-American mayor of Chicago. 

$30 (or $40 cash) includes premium open bar, light hors d'oeuvre, and special cigars.    RSVP to tuckey@post.com.

In 2008 the University Club Cigar Society will be meeting privately two Tuesdays a month from 5:30 to 8:30 PM in the new smoking lounge in the Iwan Ries Building, just around the corner from the University Club, at 19 South Wabash.  Events in the University Series include cocktails at 5:30pm, a lecture or reading starting at 6:00 sharp for about thirty minutes, with discussion and more cocktails to follow.  Smoking is permitted and encouraged at all times, and the topic of conversation will wander.  All members of the University Club and Tower Club are invited, and guests of members are always welcome.  Reservations are required.  Jacket and tie recommended.  If you are interested in becoming a member of the University Club Cigar Society and want to be included in our mailing list, write to the Secretary, Curtis Tuckey, at tuckey@post.com.

University Club Cigar Society Officers for 2008
David O'Connor, Supreme Dodo.  Gerald I. Bauman, Treasurer.  Curtis Tuckey, Secretary.  Alexander Sherman, Metropolitan Philosopher. J. Douglas Johnson, Liaison to Various Other Clubs (Honorary).  Jeffrey Dean, Chair of the Subcommittee concerning Pipe Smoking. David Fitzpatrick, Government Relations.  Jorge del Castillo, Doctor of Tobacciana.  Thomas S. O'Brien, Stentorian. John H. Nelson, Herald. David Karrow, Liaison to the Industry.  Denise Lubaway, Liaison to the Public.  Andrew Hernandez, Excursionista.  Mark Warden, Apologist. Augustus V. M. Higginson II, Gadfly.